Rant #2: Call Of Duty, The Beginning of the End?

Hey everyone, Thomas here.

Today’s rant will be about the Call Of Duty video game franchise and its (possibly) imminent demise. So sorry if you know nothing about the series. My next few posts should be a tad more universal. 🙂

___

On May 2, 2016, the reveal trailer for the upcoming addition to the First-person Shooter action series Call Of Duty was published on YouTube. Not too long later, it became the 2nd most disliked video on YouTube, scoring over 3.2 million dislikes. In fact, 86.14% of all the ratings on that video were in fact dislikes, showing you the truth behind the reaction of the majority.

So why did this game, which – to me, anyway – doesn’t seem too bad compared to other big-name games cop so much hate from the internet?

There are many possible answers to that question. Many veterans of the franchise that have stuck around since its legacy World War 2 roots claim they don’t like how the series is switching around from default boots-on-ground combat to full space battles. Others say that the time setting of the game – it is set in the future – was way too predictable. But what I think caused most of this abhorrence was the comparison of this trailer to that of its rival, Battlefield 1, whose reveal trailer was released only 4 days after the COD trailer.

The yawning gap between these two games is quite noticeable. In fact, it’s hard not to find the differences between them. BF1 is set in World War 1, while COD is set in the future. BF1 features massive, open 64-player battlefields while COD would most likely only have closed, linear-feeling arenas.

And to bring COD down even lower, recently BF1 launched an open-Beta. This raised the hype put towards the game even higher, and could have crippled COD’s chance to even compete with a game like BF1.

So, is COD well and truly stuffed? Or has it got some life left in the tank? I personally think it’s the latter option. Just you watch, next year Activision will release a new one and everyone will forget about this.Or even better, perhaps this one will be released and turn out to not be that bad? I don’t know. I’m going to wait ’till the beta to fully judge this game.

Perhaps your opinion varies? Perhaps you want to voice that opinion? If so, go ahead and post your thoughts in the comment section below.

Anyway guys, that’s all for now. Thank you guys so much for reading, and I’ll see you all in the next post!

From your (slightly biased) pal,
Thomas “The Mad Writer” McKenna

 

3 thoughts on “Rant #2: Call Of Duty, The Beginning of the End?

  1. Hey, Thomas! I personally fell off the COD train after Black Ops 2 (Or Ghosts, rather, which I promptly gave away). I would have no problem getting back into the series except I feel that the gaming realm has become so oversaturated with futuristic games. I like Halo as much as the next guy, but when I want to play Halo, I pop in Halo 2 and invite friends over. With Titanfall and Overwatch and all of these other big-name games exploring futuristic gear and such (I think, I haven’t played them myself), I can understand why people are tired with COD.

    And let’s not forget that a new COD comes out nearly every year, if I’m not mistaken. You can only milk people for so long, you know? The Battlefield games are at least APPEARING to make an effort to change things up, and the comparisons between the two franchises are especially stark in this case. And I think MW2 Remastered is being bundled with the new game or something or other and people are having a fit.

    Anywho, great post, man. I’ve just subscribed. It seems you just hopped on WordPress this September. So did I! (Late September). Always cool to find new bloggers with similar interests. I’ve just subscribed. Looking forward to your next posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely. It is a very high-risk maneuver to jump away from the mechanics that have established the base of the game that has always been present, since the start – and one that (in this case) might not pay off in the end.

      Also, what the hell is with the bundling of MW2 Remastered with Infinite Warfare?! Have Infinity Ward not listened to the fans AT ALL!?

      And thanks a lot for the support, man! It does honestly mean a lot. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. At a time when gamers are already frustrated with the franchise, the move certainly hasn’t proven wise! And it’s my pleasure, I enjoy your work. And I thank you likewise for your support.

        Like

Leave a comment